Rope, Latex, and Water–A Photo Zine (NSFW)

The first time I tied someone up for a photo it was a disaster.  She was someone I’d been working with for a while and often humored me with my photo-requests, and she was truly kind about the whole thing, despite my utter and obvious lack of grace.  I’d bought the wrong kind of rope.  I had no real plan going in.  I didn’t move quickly enough and she patiently tolerated every fumble and misstep.  And often, that’s the way of the first shoot with a  new idea.  The first model sometimes gets the short end of the stick while I work out all the kinks.

Rivi7_ChrisFitzgerald

A year and a half later, I’ve photographed 20 or so models for the bondage series and I have a much clearer vision of what I’m trying to say.  Trust is an ongoing theme in my work, and I found the idea of allowing oneself to be restricted in that way a huge act of confidence on the part of the one being tied.  It seemed almost empowering to be willing to be imprisoned in that way, and more so to be photographed in the act.  I wanted to make photos that talked about trust, choice, and how sometimes we choose our own prisons.

The bondage series led to latex, a world with which I was largely unfamiliar.  The constrictive aspect interested me though, and as a person who has literally had to re-teach himself how to breathe, being wrapped and bound in that way evoked a sense of curiosity and panic.

RiviLatex8

Lastly, the water theme combined bondage with baptism, cleansing, and to some extent, learning to breathe in stops and starts.  And again, trust as a central theme.  In so many ways we are ultimately the key-masters to our own shackles.  The shackles that we willingly step into every morning are the most interesting to me, and the means by which we seek our own rebirth.

Rivi Madison and I met not long after I moved to LA.  We emailed back and forth about the bondage shoot for a few weeks and then shot it in a friend’s studio.  Since then, despite the lunacy of my ideas, she’s remained quite unflappable.  This series, obviously, would have been impossible without her, as she found a voice in every scenario and brought this series to life.

RiviWater2_ChrisFitzgerald

I’ve published this in e-format for the time being on MagCloud, and am limiting the purchases of this edition to 100 copies.  (The option is there to buy a print copy, but my intention is to distribute this as an e-zine only at this point.)

Click any photo to be taken to the site for a short preview.  Probably not suitable for your mom or anyone under 18, and definitely NSFW.

Please feel free to share this post, and I hope you enjoy the zine.

2013 is going to be rad!

One thought on “Rope, Latex, and Water–A Photo Zine (NSFW)

  1. Pingback: Cigar Smoke Fetish | MidnightSmoke

Leave a Reply

