Photo of James and Marian (NSFW)

James and Marian were always very relaxed in front of the camera, regardless of the poor conditions, inclement weather, lack of attire, or whatever else I may have subjected them to.  This was the first and only time we worked together in this capacity, although I went on to shoot both of them separately on multiple occasions.  I was so drawn to the shapes of their bodies.  They were built almost identically and moved so gracefully both in front of the camera and when no one was watching.

I didn’t really have words for what I was doing at the time but I realize now that I was making my first attempts at directing.   I think some photographers are born with the ability to project their thoughts into the world in a way that’s easily understood.  I was not/am not one of those people.  I still struggle with making the random shapes and colors in my head into coherent sentences that other people can interpret.  It has gotten a lot easier, but those beginning days were rough.  A lot of my photo-heros are more directors than anything else.  They use cameras, but it is their ability to materialize their vision that I’m so floored by.

These are all on Fuji Neopan 1600, and I shook the hell out of them when I was developing so they’d get that great, rich, contrasty look.  Something I always loved about this film was it’s ability to create those super-rich tones and maintain shadow detail at the same time.

You can see more Marian here.

Leave a Reply

