Bedbugs, Skin Cells and Stains, vII

The mattress project has been on the back burner for the last few weeks but I’ve had a chance to do a little editing and have a few more to add to the series.  I’ve found a lot recently, but they really have to be in the most perfect lighting set-up, or they just don’t have the magic.  They need to be lit by ambient light, if not directly from a street light or the light-noise from the city.  The amazing fog we get on the coast helps, as it keeps city light from escaping and bounces it back down and gives the night a great glow.  I’ve thought about bringing lights and making a whole production of it, but that seems a little too glamourous.  If I find these in absolute darkness, which I often do, I’ll use the car lights, but they are ridiculously hot and blow out on the majority of white mattresses.

West Los Angeles #12

Someone offered up the advice of dragging them into the light because “as you so succinctly put it, Chris, ‘everything is a lie’ anyways and it doesn’t matter.”  I did, in fact say, that everything is a lie.  Actually, I think what I said is that all art is a lie, and that all artists are liars, especially photographers.  Photography is an exclusionary medium.  Photos are often more about what you can’t see right outside the edges than what you CAN see inside the edges.  But I digress.  The real reason I’m not moving these mattresses into the light is because:  Ew.  Gross.  The hook to these for me is that they are just saturated in all manner of secrets, secretions, and intimacy.  But I’m cool with appreciating these from a safe distance that doesn’t involve getting any of that intimacy on my hands.

Leave a Reply

