Boxing Marian (NSFW)

I shot this set a while back but have been revisiting it as of late.  I put a few of these in my physical portfolio that I show to clients, but I haven’t branched out to the site yet.  This is a sticky transition–balancing this type of work with marketable images.  I’ve received a lot of friendly advice from people way more business savvy than myself who have encouraged me to fill my portfolio with marketable work and then add a small supplement with the stuff I’m more interested in.  And then I met a curator last week who tore my book apart.  He pointed to some of the the tears I had in my portfolio and said, in no uncertain terms, “Stop showing people this garbage.  Its not what you want to do.  Clients will hire you based on your vision, not this shit.”   He’s a good guy and I respect his vision a lot, even if he’s not that good at sugarcoating.

I still feel like I’m trying to walk this tightrope between commercial work and visual art in an effort to build clients in Los Angeles while at the same time reaching out to galleries and art directors with the more pushy work.  Its a little frustrating at times being everything all at once, when I feel like I have a very clear photographic thread that ties all of my work together.

Is this what Terry Richardson did?  Or did he just promote the hell out of his disturbing-naked-mom-tampon-toothbrush-trailer-park-sexy images until someone bought them?  Interestingly enough, he still shoots the world’s most fucking boring magazine covers for magazines like Allure that are devoid of any sort of Richardson-sleaze, when he can probably turn down whatever jobs he wants.  Maybe Allure pays like a boss, who knows?

Back to the photos!  I found a closet full of mannequins and knew I had to stick someone in that shelf.  Marian’s skin tone was so close to those of the parts, and she has this kind of ethereal lankiness that would blend right in.  Plus, she is not afraid, ever of anything.  So when I called and said, “Hey, I need to stuff your naked body in a shelf surrounded by mannequins,”  she just laughed and asked “When?”

These are all on grainy, grainy, Neopan, shot in a basement, guerilla-style.

Got some more shots of Kailen up on the website.  I’ll see you all in a few days.

One thought on “Boxing Marian (NSFW)

  1. Pingback: Photo of James and Marian (NSFW) « CultFitz

Leave a Reply

