Bedbugs, Skin Cells and all Manner of Stains

Here’s a small series I’ve been working on since I moved here a few months ago.  I’m not exactly sure what attracted me to these discarded mattresses as a subject matter, but it seemed like once I started shooting them they began to find me.  Not to anthropomorphize too much, but I felt like they were kind of a personal thing to just put on the curb and throw away since they have so many private stories to tell.  They have this sense of intimacy to them (for obvious reasons) but they also ask so many questions.  Was there a break up?  Did someone die?  Is someone now sleeping on a brand new mattress free of sag and skin cells (for now…)?

Click the photo and it will take you to the whole set.  Sleep well, guys!

2 thoughts on “Bedbugs, Skin Cells and all Manner of Stains

Leave a Reply

