Tumblr, anyone?

Craptastic

If you know me at all, you know that I am vehemently anti-IPhone Instagram-fake-scratchy-faux-film-cross-processed nonsense.  Mostly because 99% of the photos people take are garbage but they rub all that digital stink on them and now they’re photographers! (The truth is, 99% of the photos anyone takes are garbage.) Its vexing at best.  The conundrum is that I would never discourage anyone from grabbing a camera and making some photos or attempting to learn the craft or better themselves at the art.  However, the IPhone jazz is a gimmick.  And gimmicks get your attention, briefly, but are largely hollow.  Being really awesome at Guitar Hero doesn’t *actually* make you a guitar player.  It’s possible that this is a fantastic tool to interest people in playing guitar, but after you beat that Dragon Force song on Extra Hard or whatnot, you should find that dirty guy who works at the music store and beg him to teach you how to play.  Ergo…After you get done crapping all over 100 years of photography, I hope you’ll AT LEAST go buy a camera and take some real photos.  You know, learn how to make an interesting image without all those bogatron filters.

I know I’m pissing people off, and I can deal with your spite.  There are, of course, exceptions to this rule, as I have photographer friends that use that stuff all the time.  And I know there are a ton of people who are going to accuse me of being a Luddite or not recognizing the breadth of the medium or blah blah blah.  And that’s cool, too.

So here’s where I’m a big fat hypocrite.  I used to HATE my cellphone camera because of this.  I mean, couldn’t take my cellphone camera seriously at all.  But then I met a guy who was really all about pushing photography as far as it would go, blending it with video, and using every available tool at your disposal. Needless to say, he was a giant cellphone camera advocate.  So I started my own Cell Phone Diary.  Devoid, however, of fake scratches and film codes printed on the edges like I was Mario Testino looking at my contact sheets.  I started a Tumblr account about 6 months ago, and, admittedly, its a nice diversion from picking up a giant full-frame camera and lugging it around every damn day.  So, if you do the Tumblr and want to check it out, click that awesome photo up top. And, if you want to send me your awesome vajazzled, square, purple, tinted, bullshit as well.  I’d love to see it.

Leave a Reply

