Ate up with Film

Don’t get me wrong, I have fully embraced the digital world.  I love that instantaneous response, I love being able to double check my exposure, and I love all those beautiful megapixels.  Recently I’ve been shooting a lot of 120 along side the digital images.  I’ll have them developed and scanned to a disk to work with them later.  Often these disks get set aside or filed away or buried under something else so months later in a cleaning frenzy I’ll find one and I get excited about the shoot again.  Yea, yea, there are a hundred cheesy Iphone apps to do the same thing and add scratches and film grain and blah blah blah.  But its cheesy.  And overused.  And I think there is something to be said about knowing where your technology came from.

I just bought a keychain 110 camera.  I’m trying to build a mod to take 35mm because 110 film is OUTRAGEOUSLY expensive.  All these Ebay cats are gouging the hell out of us on a product they don’t even use!!! But I digress.  I’m excited about the spontaneity a camera that small and portable will allow.   A 110 negative ends up being the size of your fingernail, which is ridiculous, but still carries its own aesthetic. I’ll post a few as soon as I get the courage to try it out.  At what I paid for the film, each picture is like gold.

Leave a Reply

